Friday 20Mar20
A concert by Quantum Ensemble
1 Shows
20 Mar 19:30 h.
Music/Quantum Ensemble
 Auditorio de Tenerife (Sala de Cámara)

This concert represents a kind of microcosm of the programmatic principles that articulate the seasons of Quantum Ensemble. Three works, covering three centuries, showcase the temporal and stylistic ambitions of the repertoire of the ensemble from Tenerife. The commitment to new creations, a key aspect of the artistic motivation of the Quantum Ensemble, is evident in a premiere by Gustavo Trujillo. To the temporal diversity, we can add the flexibility of the different formations required for this concert, which go from the single cello soloist in Bach’s Suite for Cello No 4, through Brahm’s Trio for Violin, Cello and Piano No 1, and on to the sui generis formation of the work that will be premiered today, which is composed for clarinet, violin, cello and piano. However, apart from such variety and contrast, there is a common thread that connects the pieces played in this concert and, in this way, confers a certain cohesiveness to it: the history of music allocates a privileged position to both Bach and Brahms, as far as it is concerned with their capacity for composing works in which creativity is joined to great structural rigour; from very different stylistic premises, as it couldn’t otherwise be, Trujillo’s new composition is part of this same tradition of great formal and structural sophistication.

Víctor Durà-Vilà

Johann Sebastian BACH (1685-1750) Suite for violoncello No. 4 in E flat major, BWV 1010 (1717-23) – 35’
Gustavo TRUJILLO (n. 1972) Kenotáphion (2019) – 10’ (Clarinet, violin, violoncello and piano)
Johannes BRAHMS (1833-1897) Trio for violin, violoncello and piano No. 1 in B major, Op. 8 (1854) – 35’

The show is not available to children aged under 5.

Fri 20Mar20

Subscribe to our Newsletter

If you wish to recieve our discounts and special offers, please, submit out form.