Tuesday 05Apr22


Piano concert
1 Shows
05 Apr 19:30 h.
80 min. + 20 min. intermission
Music/Chamber Music Cycle
 Auditorio de Tenerife (Sala de Cámara)

The Chamber Cycle of Auditorio de Tenerife presents the concert Croma by the pianist Ainoa Padrón.



Croma, Chroma, from the Greek colour.

This concert's programme features exceptional chromaticism. Works for piano in an unexpected combination: Óscar Esplá, Olivier Messiaen, and Manuel Bonnín, composers who seemingly are not related but who share an exuberant sound full of harmonic subtleties and unlikely melodies.


The Spanish Sonata by Óscar Esplá (from Levante) opens the concert with a nod to romanticism. This piece, from 1949 and dedicated to the memory of Chopin, combines a certain sense of chromaticism that is sometimes subtle and often amusing – almost brazen – with a unique intimacy in which references to the mazurka have a clearly French influence.


This brings us to the chromaticism of the pieces by Olivier Messiaen, a selection from the "Twenty Visions of the Infant Jesus" suite, from 1944. All of the tones previously proposed by Esplá are collected here vertically; Messiaen plays with them and prolongs them in time, emboldening the air with each chord.


Finally, a piece that brings together Esplá's introversion and the breadth of Messiaen is the Piano Sonata in E Minor by the composer from Tenerife, Manuel Bonnín.


This is a piece from 1930 in a tremendously polyphonic language, complex in terms of the interweaving of each line but always honest in its development; a piece in which there are no superfluous notes and each and every one of them is part of the orchestral and dazzling vision for the piano.


The three composers were related to one another because of their brave handling of sound, with a drive forchromaticism and intensity. 

Óscar Esplá (1886-1976)
Spanish Sonata Op. 53 (1949)
(To Frédéric Chopin, in memorian)

-Andante romántico
-Mazurka sopra un tema popolare
-Allegro brioso

Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)
Vingt regards sur l’enfant-Jésus (Twenty visions of the infant Jesus) (1944)

-Regard du Père (Contemplation of the Father). Extrêmement lent - Mysterieux, avec amour

-Regard de l'étoile (Contemplation of the Star). Modéré

-Première communion de la Vierge (The Virgin's First Communion). Très lent

-Regard des Anges (Contemplation of the Angels). Très vif


Manuel Bonnín Guerín (1898-1993)
Piano Sonata in E minor (1930)

-Scherzo. Vivace
-Final. Allegro moderato

During the purchase process, the user will have to choose between one or two pre-set seats previously distributed throughout the hall. Please contact the box office if you want to buy a single ticket, and the pre-set seats are sold out. If you have any questions while purchasing your tickets, you can write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  or call 922 568 625 from Monday to Friday from 10:00 to 14:00, except for public holidays.

Access is only allowed to children over five years of age.

For further information, please check the general terms and purchase conditions.

Ticket purchase also entails the user’s unconditional acceptance - without exception or reservation whatsoever- of all measures implemented by the Auditorio de Tenerife to combat the spread of the pandemic, such as the correct use of masks. You can check out all the measures here: https://bit.ly/3haP4fH.

Tue 05Apr22