The artists will work on the different aspects involved in an opera production

The ten singers of the 7th Opera (e)Studio have started their training on the Island through different master classes. The teachers this year include the project’s artistic director, Giulio Zappa; the Italian soprano, Mariella Devia; the stage director, Pablo Maritano, and Ópera de Tenerife’s intendant, Alejandro Abrante.

The first of these master classes is under the guidance of maestro Giulio Zappa, who teaches in performative vocal technique, and specifically, the importance of Italian phonetics applicable to the model of opera performance in the first half of the 19th century, which features composers like Donizetti, Bellini and Rossini.

For his part, Pablo Maritano will tackle stage performance. As in previous years, the soprano Mariella Devia will share with the singers her technique and experience, which made her stand out in the main opera houses in the world throughout her long career. To round off their training, Alejandro Abrante will give a talk to disclose the keys an artist needs to connect, from a comprehensive point of view, with the different aspects that make up the professional management of an artistic career, offering them the necessary tools to be competitive in the demanding opera market.

This training process will lead to the performance of Gaetano Donizetti’s L’elisir d’amore from 24 to 27 October. The title opens Ópera de Tenerife’s 2019–2020 season.

The cast for this production is double as they will sing in alternate days in the four performances of the opera. It includes the voices of Maria Rita Combatelli (soprano); Beatriz de Sousa (soprano); Klodjan Kaçani (tenor); César Arrieta (tenor); Alberto Bonifazio (baritone); Jacobo Ochoa (baritone); Givi Gigineishvili (bass); Matteo Andrea Mollica (bass); Sofía Esparza (soprano) and Leonora Tess (soprano). The ten members were selected in the auditions held in February in Bologna, Tbilisi, Madrid and Tenerife, which were attended by a total of 181 candidates from 33 countries.